Is Hunts ketchup vegan?
Strictly speaking, Hunt’s Original Tomato Ketchup is not vegan, as it uses non-organic Sugar in place of Corn syrup/sweeteners. You might be puzzled to hear that (non-organic) Sugar contains animal products, but it is often the case. For further information refer to our is ketchup vegan post.
Whats in Hunt’s ketchup
We were unable to find an ingredients list on the official site, but found the following information on Amazon (where the product is being sold):
- TOMATO CONCENTRATE MADE FROM VINE RIPENED TOMATOES
- DISTILLED VINEGAR
- SALT, LESS THAN 2% OF: ONION POWDER, GARLIC POWDER
- NATURAL FLAVORS
I don’t see any animal products, why is it not vegan-friendly?
This very much depends on your definition of vegan, but non-organic sugar often contains bone char. You can refer to our more thorough post on ketchup to find out more and for alternative ketchup options.
Do all of Hunt’s products contain sugar?
It’s not clear that all of their products contain sugar since they don’t list ingredients clearly on their site. We were, however, able to find ingredients for the following products and they do contain sugar:
- Classic Tomato Ketchup
- Best Ever Ketchup
- Hickory Cracked Black Pepper BBQ Sauce
- Cherrywood Chipotle BBQ Sauce