Is Koppaberg vegan?

No. Although many of the ingredients used to create the infamous Kopparberg flavours are vegan, their filtration process makes this brand of fruit cider unsuitable for vegans. Like many larger-scale commercial cider brands, Kopparberg’s filtration process involves using several animal by-products, including gelatin, isinglass, crab shells and collagen.

Is Koppaberg vegan?

COULD KOPPARBERG PRODUCE VEGAN FRIENDLY CIDER IN FUTURE?

Yes. In fact, readily-available information online suggests that they have been distributing a number of vegan-friendly ciders from their original Swedish factory for as long as nine years. If the demand for vegan-friendly alternatives continues to increase, Kopparberg may find itself on the wider vegan market at some point. Source: Barnivore.com

WHAT MAKES CIDER VEGAN?

The difference between vegan and non-vegan cider is all to do with the filtration process, sometimes known as the clarification process. Instead of using animal by-products, some cider companies will use other vegan-friendly methods. One of the most popular methods involves fermenting cider in large oak barrels and allowing them to settle for several months before being distributed and consumed. Some cider companies will also use specially prepared bentonite clay or cellulose filter sheets to filter their cider without using animals in the process.

VEGAN FRUIT CIDER ALTERNATIVES:

  • Old Mount Cider (Kiwi & Lime, Pomegranate & Strawberry, Passionfruit & Apple, Summer Berries, Berries and Cherries)
  • Brother’s Cider (Festival Pear, Rhubarb & Custard, Coconut & Lime, Toffee Apple, Strawberry & Kiwi, Wild Fruit)
  • Smirnoff Cider (Passionfruit & Lime, Raspberry & Pomegranate, Mandarin & Pink Grapefruit)
  • Ace Ciders (Apple, Pear, Berry)
  • Thatcher’s Cider (Apple)